Savory Sausage Gravy Recipe

Easy & Savory Sausage Gravy! So, so good.

This morning, I pretty much made the best Biscuits & Gravy, ever.

Of course, I’m grossly overstating my kitchen skillz, but it was so, so good! I had seconds, which means I’m pretty much not going to eat the rest of the day. πŸ˜‰

Disclaimer: This is not a recipe for the health-conscious, but it is comfort food to the max. Hubby and I have been eating salads all week, so we were ready to treat ourselves this Saturday morning. I think I make this breakfast once a year, but after changing up the spices in the gravy this morning, I’m going to have to make it All. The. Time.

Now, I just need to make my own biscuits, and perfect the recipe…buuut that would mean I can’t sleep in…hmm. I’ll have to think about that one. I’m not a morning person, by any means. Coffee to the rescue! Oh, and Pillsbury Grand Original Flaky Layers Biscuits. After two cups of coffee, I feel like I can do anything, but, like I said, I slept in this morning. There are tons of wonderful homemade biscuit recipes out there for us, just waiting to be tried. But today, we’re going the easy way. Thank you, Pillsbury.

Anyway

 

Savory Sausage Gravy Recipe

Easy & Savory Sausage Gravy for Biscuits and Gravy! 15 minutes and done! Songbyrdy.com

…ahhhhh.

Sorry about the less-than-perfect photo. By the time I finished making it, I was so hungry, I didn’t make time for a photo session. Once you make it, I’m sure you’ll understand. πŸ˜‰ I’ll upload a pretty food-gawker-worthy photo later. Did I mention I love made-up words…?

This makes quite a bit of gravy! This recipe serves about 4-6 people (you can easily halve the recipe, if you so desire). That is to say, of course, if you don’t splurge and go for seconds. πŸ˜‰ Sharing is caring.Β Good luck.


Time: approx. 15 min.

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs Jimmy Dean Original sausage
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 5 cups 2% milk
  • 1 tbsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp Lawry’s Season Salt
  • 1 tsp Paprika
  • A very generous seasoning of Fresh Cracked Black Pepper!

Instructions:

In a large pot, brown the sausage over medium heat, and crumble the sausage as it cooks.Β (Don’t drain the fat, but watch how much grease is left in the sausage when it’s fully cooked. If more than 3-4 tbsp, you may want to remove some.)

[Note: This is usually when I put the biscuits in the oven, so they’re still nice and hot for the gravy.]

Sprinkle flour over sausage, while stirring it until it is soaked into the grease.

Stir in the milk, then add in the onion powder, season salt, paprika and pepper.

Bring the gravy up to a simmer (do not boil!), stirring frequently as it thickens. Once it begins to bubble, turn off heat and let thicken, adding fresh cracked black pepper, oh so generously. Season it to your tastes, or until the flavors sing. πŸ˜‰

Season with salt to taste. If the gravy happens to be too thick, you can add more milk (this also works well with thinning the gravy if you somehow end up with leftovers).

Pour over biscuits and top with black pepper to your heart’s desire.


 

ENJOY!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

