Reality of Work-From-Home Mom's Workspace

My ETSY Workspace & W-I-P Wednesday

Welcome to another Work-In-Progress Wednesday, with an added glimpse into my Etsy workspace.

I love to look at workspace photos when Etsy shops are featured. They always look so beautiful and organized. I’ll have to admit I envy them, just a tad little bit. Then I laugh. I congratulate them on their successes, while my one-year-old starts climbing on me, and I set aside my knitting.

My workspace looks something like this on a daily basis:

Reality of Work-at-Home Mom's Workspace

Yes, I’m in sweat pants. Yes, that’s me on the couch. Yes, I’m sitting cross-legged, because I’m a bit of a hippie.  Yes, those are toys. Everywhere.

Today the workspace is particularly messy, and if you know this one-year-old toddler at all, you know that picking up toys is not going to happen unless you do it yourself.

Enter Messy Co-Worker:

Reality of Work-From-Home Mom's Workspace

I have another order of these lovely Jammin’ Fingerless Mittens nearing its shipping deadline, and praying I’m going to make it, while balancing everything else in my schedule, as my toddler begins to climb on me and start pulling my hair, clawing and pinching as she climbs up and down, twisting and turning until she’s comfortable, kicking the keyboard, throwing the yarn on the floor, possibly losing me a few stitches, and finally giving me a big, wet, slobbery kiss.

I take a deep breath.

Reality of Work-From-Home Mom's Workspace

Inside, I’m cringing a little, but I choose to give her a big hug and kiss and cuddle with her for a few minutes, and maybe sing a song or read a book (her current favorite is Dr. Seuss’ The Lorax). After a few cherished minutes, something else catches her attention and she’s off running. I resume knitting. I know she won’t always give me big slobbery kisses, and sit in my lap. It goes without saying, but “they’re only little once”.

I’ll admit that my shop is not my first priority during the day; my daughter is. Maybe because of that, my little business will never really “take-off”. There are many more sahm-preneurs and/or mompreneurs and work-from-home mamas out there that can probably do it all with grace, however that’s not me.

And that’s okay.

I chose to stay at home, not just to save money on daycare, but to educate and provide learning and loving experiences for my daughter.  I am lucky to be able to do so, and I know many more parents would if they could, so please know that I am not complaining, rather, I am testifying to the reality of being a “mom-preneur” and to the fact that it’s beautiful in its own messy way. I don’t expect my workspace to be featured on Etsy anytime soon, however, I have to admit that I absolutely LOVE my messy co-worker!

Knitters stay tuned- I will be posting a FREE PATTERN  this weekend so you can knit your own Jammin’ Fingerless Mittens! Don’t knit? You can find them here: Jammin’ Fingerless Mittens!

Jammin' Fingerless Mittens

8 thoughts on “My ETSY Workspace & W-I-P Wednesday

Leave a Reply

