Awesome Tip for Keeping Your Chicken From Drying Out in the Oven!

Amazing Baked Chicken Breast! Do You Know The Secret?

I do not consider myself a wiz in the kitchen by any means, but I’m going to toot my own horn and pat myself on the back, because yesterday, I finally succeeded in making baked chicken that didn’t come out dry! Not only was it NOT dry, but also it was fully cooked, extremely juicy, tender, moist, and full of flavor!

How to Get Tender, Moist, Oven-Baked Chicken Breasts, Every Time! Juicy Oven-Baked Chicken Songbyrdy.com

What’s the secret?

I am normally a crock-pot woman. As a stay-at-home-mom, it’s just my go-to, so I can throw everything together, and forget about it until dinner time, while I educate my toddler on the finer things in life (like “where’s your belly button?”) and work on Etsy orders. However, I am easily distracted, and being the ditz that I sometimes am…I turned on the crockpot, but forgot to put the chicken in it.

Seriously…again?

By the time I realized it, of course, it was too late!

So…Pinterest to the rescue! First I had to make a choice. Do I bake it, boil it, or fry it stove-top style? Boiling is definitely out the window as it takes so much flavor away (and I forgot to mention this chicken is going to go into a casserole later). I did not have the time, nor the patience, to stand over the stove, (again, Etsy orders beckon!) and it’s about impossible to watch the stove and a teething toddler all at once.

[Why do I mention teething, you ask? When she’s teething, she puts anything and everything into her mouth…edible or not. I digress…]

So that leaves baking. I’ve not had good results in the past- it almost always turns out dry unless it is covered in a casserole (or wrapped in bacon- yum!)

So I searched Pinterest for “how to bake chicken” and found this gem:

How To Bake Chicken Breasts in the Oven: The Simplest, Easiest Method from http://www.thekitchn.com

Paleo folks, you’ll love it.

I stumbled upon this awesome website and will be returning for sure to look at their Cooking School and Baking School!

I only used these 3 simple ingredients on my chicken:

Ingredients for Simply Juicy Oven-Baked Chicken Breasts

That’s it! Then covered it completely with buttered parchment paper:

Baking Hack: Cover Chicken with Buttered Parchment Paper to Seal in moisture!

And here’s how it turned out:

Awesome Tip for Keeping Your Chicken From Drying Out in the Oven!

I baked 4 breasts at 400°F for 45 minutes.

Secret to Juicy Oven-Baked Chicken Breasts

You can use a thermometer to check your chicken or you can be like me and hack away at it to make sure it’s fully cooked (it was going into a casserole anyway!). It doesn’t have to look perfect; this is not a restaurant. I think it still looks pretty yummy!

There you go. Moist? Check. Tender? Check. Delicious? CHECK!

The secret is in the parchment paper! It acts as a “skin” that the chicken is missing, and keeps it from drying out in the oven.

Confession: I ate about half of the small breast right after it came out of the oven…oops. Can you blame me? I mean…look at it…

How to Get Tender, Moist, Oven-Baked Chicken Breasts, Every Time

It’s okay, I won’t tell your secret…that a photo made you salivate. Or maybe that’s just me…

This is now my go-to recipe for baked chicken. It’s so versatile, you can add in any seasonings you want! Not all recipes and how-to’s I find on Pinterest work out for the best, but this one surely did! The whole family loved it. I highly recommend it!

Have you found any Pinterest recipes that you’ve tried and loved?!

Leave a Reply

