Who Am I? + My Etsy Shop Story

Sings:

“Whooooooooooooo are you? Who, Who, Who, Who?”

-The Who

The word “who” looks funny when you type it that many times. Or maybe that’s just me?

I look funny.

ANYWAY…

WHO AM I? 

You might wonder since you are going to be reading this blog. Am I a crazy-cat-lady knitter? Sadly, no cats or animals of any kind here. Unless you count my 18-month-old. 😉 Just kidding.

I’m Whittney Perez, the maker behind the Etsy shop: Songbyrdy- Lovely Handcrafted Accessories. I’m also a SAHM (stay-at-home-mom) to my 18-month old daughter, we’ll call her “La Chiquita”. Don’t know how to pronounce that? Think Chiquita Banana. 🙂

I’ve been married to the love of my life, for a little over two years. He is originally from Mexico City, and is an engineer smarty pants a.k.a nerd, like me. We’ll call him “The Mr.” out of respect for privacy. 😉

But let’s back up a little bit. Here’s a little slice of my life:

I was born and raised in Council Bluffs, Iowa which is right across the Missouri river to Omaha, Nebraska, famous for many important things, one of them being the large population of black squirrels.

Black Squirrel, C.B. Iowa

C.B. Black Squirrel – not my photo…

Aren’t they cute?

I digress…

SQUIRREL!

Okay, okay…

Upon graduating from high school I decided to become a Bearcat at Northwest Missouri State University-(Go Bearcats!) and majored in Vocal Music Education.

76_507874009872_1010_n 34128_508794834927_2149209_n

I loved Northwest so much, I stayed as a Graduate Assistant and earned my master’s in Music. So, you can call me Master Whittney, if you please.

Upon graduating from NWMSU, I moved to Phoenix, AZ to be closer to family (who moved while I was in college). There I met the love of my life and began my teaching career, teaching K-8 Elementary Music, north of Phoenix. I taught in that district for 3 years, when The Mr. and I got married, and moved to Ohio because The Mr. got an awesome job. Shortly after moving, we found out we were going to have a baby! 🙂

La Chiquita

La Chiquita

I decided to be a SAHM (never thought I’d do that!) It had always been my plan to be an amazing music teacher at the same job my whole life and build an amazing musical community…yada yada yada. Well kids kinda change your perspective, or at least, La Chiquita did for me. I haven’t given up on teaching, just delayed it a bit. It goes without saying, but ‘they are only little once’. The Mr. and I are lucky enough that (if we make a few sacrifices) we can afford for me to stay at home with La Chiquita.

So here’s where my Etsy Shop Story starts.

I wanted my soon-to-be-born baby girl to have something special from me. I decided, what could be better than a handmade baby blanket, to keep her warm?

Handmade gifts are so much more meaningful than something you can simply buy at any store. I have a cherished handmade quilt made from old feed-sack fabrics made by my great-great-grandmother.

Feed Sack Quilt

Heirloom Feed Sack Quilt

It is more than a quilt, it is a sentimental heirloom, a piece of our family history, proof of our existence and the love that has existed between us. I believe it is somewhere between 50-70 years old.

At the time, I did not own a sewing maching, nor could I afford one. So there was no possibility of making her a quilt!

So.

I picked up a crochet hook, and began to make…

a scarf.

Ha!

I needed to get my skills up to par first!

Then, I began to make her a blanket. From then on, I was ‘hooked’ (cheesy pun intended). I began making friends and family scarves and other various accessories as gifts and I couldn’t stop. A very sweet friend told me that I should open an Etsy shop. I thought “Why not? Maybe someday!”  So, I slowly started building up inventory, while learning how to take better product photos (I had no idea what I was doing! I’m still learning…) and I was exploring the site, and somehow I accidentally opened my shop!

Ooooops.

I thought, “Well, let’s just see how this goes…” 

Nothing like diving right in! If I hadn’t accidentally opened my shop, I might never have opened it, or it might have been after another year. I highly recommend jumping in. It’s easier (and faster!) to learn as you go. You’re going to make mistakes (and I still make them), but of course, that’s how you learn.

I absolutely enjoy making handmade cozy items and custom-made items. Each piece, is a little part of me, of my story, of my life, and of course, is made with LOVE.

“You live, you learn. You love, you learn. – Alanis Morissette.

Random lyrics are bound to pop up in my posts, as they pop up in my head. My mind is like a radio station with a broken tuner knob. Be warned 😉

So that’s a little bit about me and my Etsy shop story! A little slice of my life.

I’m so glad this post is over. Now we can get to talking about things that are much more interesting! Yay! 🙂 I joke, I joke.

Do you have any cherished handmade heirlooms? Or any heirloom passed down to you?

Leave a Reply

