Whittney Perez, Owner of Songbyrdy.com

What’s This Blog About ANYWAY?! | New Adventures in Vulnerability…

HELLO BLOG WORLD!!!!! Β 

Cheers! Salud! Hip-hip hooray! πŸŽ‰

Where’s the person with the gigantic pair of scissors to cut the tape?!?!

Hi! I’m Whittney Perez, and today marks the first day of the Songbyrdy blog/website! And I am so glad YOU are here to help me celebrate! So, I suppose since you are here, and somehow you made it to MY blog in the whole internet universe of blogs, YOU might be wondering who the heck I am and what this blog is going to be about. Come join me, while I attempt to figure it out (here’s where you pause to grab a glass of wine, or a coffee; don’t worry, I’ll wait).

You may have noticed the quote at the top of the page:

“A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.” -Joan Walsh Anglund (also widely attributed to Maya Angelou).

This quote resonates with me, and guides me toward my purpose for this blog. I do not have the answers, but boy do I have songs. Songs to sing to you, and share with you. I am a maker, a creator, a musician, a mother, a wife, a child. I am a songbird.

Okay that sounds nice and all…

But how would I categorize this blog? I had trouble narrowing the focus of this blog, because I am interested in so many things, (a lifelong issue of mine!). I didn’t want this blog to be dubbed “The Life and Times of Whittney Perez”, because honestly, I’m kind of boring in real life- (I’m sitting in sweat pants and a t-shirt as I write this…). Snore! πŸ˜› My thoughts went a little like this: Should it be a lifestyle blog? I am so NOT the most fashionable- again, sweatpants. Should I make it just about my craft? Knitting and crochet? With added recipes and home decor tips? Definitely NOT a Martha Stewart, but every once in awhile…cool things happen.

SO.

I would like to call this a “Just-a-girl-singing-her-song-and-doin’-her-thang Blog”.

Pause. Beat. Wait.

Okay, you can call it a lifestyle blog if you waaaant… πŸ˜‰

Someone once told me that I’m an “ideas person” and I wholeheartedly agree. Unfortunately I have TOO MANY ideas (I’m sure many of you can relate). So let’s narrow it down, shall we?

My GOAL is this: I want you, the reader, to get something from this blog, whether you are a female, male, a mama, wife, dad, husband, a creative, a DIY-er, a fellow entrepreneur, knitter, crocheter, inspiration-seeker, etc. (didn’t see your ‘label’? No worries, all are welcome here).

I know I can’t be everything to everyone, so here it is: this blog is truly for the beauty-seekers in life. You who are trying to keep it all together, just like me. You who are in the pursuit of happiness (aren’t we all?). Us folks who are life-long learners. Keepin’ it real.

I will try to be as vulnerable and open as possible, though that has always been a lofty goal of mine! Our vulnerabilities can be our greatest strengths, yes, so why is it so hard to be an open book?!Β I will write my posts conversationally, as I don’t have too much time for eloquent, well-thought-out speech with a toddler running around- (although sometimes I surprise myself)!

I want to share some DEEPΒ stuff like:

  • The celebration of life and the beauty of everyday moments.
  • Personal lessons, struggles, triumphs
  • My Faith/Spiritual Journey (Yes, you’ll probably see the name Jesus. Please don’t go.)

and some NOT-SO-DEEP stuff like:

  • My MAD Skillz and Tips (knitting, crocheting, singing, music) Just kidding. My skills are happy.
  • Recipes (Because- Ya gotta eat.)
  • FREE stuff (Yay!)
  • The handmade community (a.k.a. amazing folks)
  • MyΒ entrepreneurial pursuits (currently at Songbyrdy.etsy.com)
  • Cool people, places, events, things, etc.
  • Funnies (haha/jaja)
  • Why I like the smell of scotch tape…

and the IN-BETWEEN stuff like (because sometimes its funny, sometimes…umm, NO):

  • Thoughts on Parenting…Oh boy…definitely not an expert here!
  • Modern times, current events
  • Tips, Resources, etc. Anything I think will be of value to you.

Really, anything is game. Everything in this world is connected. Life is an adventure.

For anyone who thinks that you can’t write a blog with so many topics of interest, read this articleΒ You Are Enough. Very inspiring and liberating. And common-sense-y. We are multi-faceted people. Who I am in real life is who I’ll be on this blog.

So, you’ll hear about my successes, my musings, my trials and my also my errors, because (HEY!), I’m a real person. Β I don’t claim to be an expert on any of these topics; I’m more of the person who, upon discovering something I perceive to be valuable, desires to share it with the world. Share the wealth and spread the love, so to speak. I’m more of a idea-facilitator (I hope). I’m not worried about having a successful blog How do you even define what a successful blog is?!. If I’ve helped, influenced, inspired or entertained even one person, that defines success for me.

Thanks for letting me be a part of your busy day. πŸ™‚ Go forth and sing it out!

Hey! Leave a comment, introduce yourself, or ask a question!

What do you want to see here? I can’t wait to meet you, and I’d love your feedback, or critiques (but, hey, be nice to the new kid).

Next up, “who am I?” a.k.a “My name is…”,Β AND my Etsy shop story. Don’t worry, it’s short. Β πŸ˜‰

-Whittney

9 thoughts on “What’s This Blog About ANYWAY?! | New Adventures in Vulnerability…

  1. Kay Evans says:

    I think you are oh so creative and talented, with an upbeat positive outlook on life, and the moment I met you I could feel your love of life. Your daughter is adorable and you have beautiful eyes. It will be fun peeking into a little corner of your life. Best wishes on this venture, Whitney. You have everything it takes to succeed at this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tricia says:

    Whit! I’m so excited for you to start this adventure! I’m excited to see where it goes and laugh/learn along with you. Your positivity is such an inspiration to me! Wishing you all the best!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

